Chop Suey Carry Out

1465 East Dorothy Lane
Dayton, OH 45429
937.294.7111
Facebook pageIMG_23582 stars
 

Chop Suey Carry Out is another option for Chinese food in the Kettering area. While there are plenty of options within a very close area, this one seems to be the one that caters mostly to carry-out customers. It does have space to dine in, but nobody seems to be doing that. While the convenience factor is impossible to ignore, and the speed with which they get the food out is insane. But in the end I just didn’t taste anything that I liked.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 So, the food is always boxed, which is a good thing, and it’s portioned nicely, with small and large options. It’s convenient, and there will always be a market for that. I went in and ordered carryout, and even without calling in advance, and at a busy time of the day, they still got me two orders in under 10 minutes. It’s a quick operation, that’s for sure.

I can’t say I really found anything especially good, worth a special trip though. I looked around online beforehand to see what people like, and the only thing acclaimed is the General Tso’s chicken. Of course it’s good, it’s fried chicken in sugary sauce. I tried some of the other options, and just nothing stood out. The dumplings are good and crispy, but the filling inside isn’t great, and there’s very little of it relative to the fried wanton wrapper you get. Also, it’s served with watered-down sweet and sour sauce. The Kung pao chicken is fine, the sauce is nice and most of the vegetables were cooked through. The overall dish lacks something. Maybe it needs a larger variety of vegetables, maybe it needs some seasoning.

I’ve also seen and heard that the service is a frequent complaint. I will say that it’s not the friendly kind of Midwest you might be used to, but I don’t think it’s rude. The language barrier is particularly difficult here, and I think that gives people a negative perception. I would say the people are more focused on being fast and getting things done as quickly as possible. Maybe they could smile say “thank you” more often, but they do seem to be trying to show their appreciation for customers. I don’t think the people are explicitly mean.

What ultimately sinks the place to me is that, other than the speed, there’s just nothing about it that makes me want to pick them out of the many other choices in this crowded market. Some places in the area have buffets for cheaper, and other places in the area deliver, so I have a hard time thinking of what makes this one win out, unless I’m feeling impatient. And if you’re about to say their General Tso’s is good, then tell me just what about it makes it different from the other places in town.
Chop Suey Carry Out on Urbanspoon

Comments
3 Responses to “Chop Suey Carry Out”
  1. tim miracle says:

    no not their chicken or anything else. actually most of their food is bad, but i swear their lo mein is of another planet. much more flavorful and tasty than any other i’ve had. maybe it’s a comfort food thing.

  2. Brittany says:

    OMG.. Chop Suey is the BEST. Here’s what you need to order: Beef lo mein, shrimp fried rice, egg rolls, and crab rangoon. Mmmm.

Leave a Reply

