Commentary: Another Food Critic tackles half a pig

IMG_2326In a manner of speaking, anyway.

Today I ran the 2013 Flying Pig Half Marathon in Cincinnati, one year after my first half marathon was a success. And I ran faster this time! Thirteen miles is no small task, but I’m glad to say I’ve done it three times now. No easy task to be sure, and I definitely look forward to another race next year. It was a really great experience, and it absolutely blew me away how Queen City really got behind the 34,000 of us who got into the event, from the signs to the volunteers and the many, many pig ears and pig tails all along the race. It was my first run in Cincinnati, and may I say that course was absolutely breathtaking. I will be back next year for another round with the ‘Pig.

I like to bring to light that I run because I feel like too few foodies really talk about what they do to stay healthy. Not to be preachy, because of course I’m just here to review food, but I like to make it clear that for all of the food I eat, write, and photograph, I also put a lot of time and effort into making sure I’m doing something productive to stay active as well; sort of keeps things in balance. On the site I try to keep things all about the food, but there’s a lot more to it in life, any food writer, and any chef will tell you that. I’ve had the pleasure of meeting a great many of the other Ohio food writers at one event or another over the past year, and the passion behind what they do is palpable. There’s a lot more behind what they do, too, and it’s great to be involved with such a great crowd!

Comments
One Response to “Commentary: Another Food Critic tackles half a pig”
  1. Congrats on a job well done….that is no easy task. You are right about having to stay healthy when you write about food, I am in the the gym every day and eat a pretty strict diet during the week. Even when we do our Food Adventures, I usually pick the healthy options and keep track of the calories….if not then you can be in some trouble!

Leave a Reply

