Red Brick Sports Pub & Grill

14 North Court St.
Athens, OH 45701
740.594.2077
websiteRed Brick (Athens, OH)

A note: I am reviewing Red Brick as a food place, not as a nightspot. Its bar reputation is a separate issue entirely.

One of the most popular bars in Athens for students on the weekends, Red brick Sports Pub and Grill is almost always full of people looking for a drink. To them I say: don’t think about Red Brick as anything more than a chance for deals on beer. Unless you’re in the mood for a 90-minute debacle.

Red Brick’s menu offers sandwiches, pizza, and burgers, but the most prominent part of the menu is dedicated to its “world famous wings.” I thought I would give them a try. I would give the wings by themselves three or four stars. Everything else about the experience gets one star.

10 wings and onion rings: $11.56 w/tax

Let me give you a timeline of my eating at Red Brick…

  • 1:30 p.m.- I walk in with one friend, sit at the bar
  • 1:45 p.m.- The lone waitress takes our orders, gets our drinks.
  • 2:26 p.m.- We receive our food, all of which is warm or cold.
  • 2:40 p.m.- Done eating, we sit and wait for our bills.
  • 3:01 p.m.- Finally we get our checks, pay, and walk out, angrier for the experience.

Red Brick had one poor waitress named Dedrick working the entire place. She was frantically trying to make drinks, take orders, and serve food for at least eight or nine tables all over the bar. And she seemed to be having trouble with the cash register much of the time she wasn’t doing everything else. I tipped her well because she was trying so hard and she was very apologetic about everything. She even took a dollar off my final bill for my trouble. Dedrick’s job was very commendable.

For Red Brick, though, there is no excuse. The bar is one of the most popular destinations for the night life in this town. It makes plenty of money. It can afford to hire an extra person to run things during the day. Importantly, the sentiment was shared by other people in the bar. I saw more than one group come in, wait, then just leave after 15 minutes. I have a rule in reviewing; if I haven’t received my food one hour after walking in the door, I leave and give the place one star. Red Brick was off of that by just four minutes, thanks to what I can only attribute to poor management.

The food spoke for itself. The wings had a good sauce, but they were cold by the time they got to me. The onion rings I ordered were overcooked, cold, and absolutely awful. I didn’t tell them to grow the onions and chickens before serving them. It doesn’t take 45 minutes to fry wings and rings, especially when there were less than a dozen other food orders of the same type being handled at the same time. I can’t imagine the wait if I had ordered something more difficult to make.

I’ve never had an experience this bad at an eatery. I definitely did not expect a place as popular as Red Brick to drop the ball this much. In the reviews I have already made around Athens, I can make one thing clear: there are many places you can go to get more bang for your buck. For instance, everywhere.
Red Brick Sports Pub on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

