Dingle House Pub & Grub

9102 West Chester Towne Center Dr.
West Chester, OH 45069
513.874.7468
websiteIMG_20472 stars

Here in West Chester seems to rest the crux of Cincinnati’s growth. With new shops, developments and homes springing up in every direction, new bars like the Dingle House Pub & Grub have an opportunity for success. This bar has a definitively Irish feel; it’s got a sleek, modern and spacious interior, the wait staff, including the men, wear kilts. Really, you’d think you can’t go wrong with that kind of fun. I’ll say I did enjoy the atmosphere. I liked the beer selection. But I was really not sold on the food.

The menu is pretty large, with an array of bar foods ranging from the typical wings and fried dishes to some more classically Irish and English cuisine; Fish and Chips, Stew, Bangers and Mash, and so forth. I did like the meatloaf; it was served topped with a good barbecue sauce and the meat was cooked just right. Unfortunately it was also the only thing I sampled that I liked. I don’t know what they put in that coleslaw but something was wrong with it…tasted like it was made from sour cream that was a day or so past due.

The fried stuff is where I really take issue; I sampled the fried pickles and liked them, but they were too greasy. Maybe they needed to spend a little more time between the fryer and the plate, but they were soggy within minutes of arriving, which is a real shame. The fries are seasoned well but they’re also sort of underdone, a little soggy. Then I sampled the bar wings, which are textually great. I was expecting to bite into something good but it tastes like some kind of bread crumb breading which wasn’t very exciting. They could at least use a little seasoning.

On the other hand, I really liked the atmosphere of the place. It’s impeccably clean, the workers seemed nice enough, and the bar has a decent selection of beers. I can see myself coming here to grab a drink and not having any problems. If I was “Another Nightlife Critic” I might have something different to say. Unfortunately, that’s not the case.

Now, I weight food above all else, and I know that you the restaurantgoer may not necessarily share that value. So I’ll make it clear that I did like the atmosphere overall. The food is of course a matter of opinion. But it wasn’t until after visiting that I took a look at what other critics and writers had to say about the food, and it remains a problem to me. I would definitely say you could have a good time getting a drink here, but I can’t say the same about the food.

Recommendations

  • The beer menu is great and worth a sampling.
  • It seems like the English and Irish food specialties are the best bets on the food menu.
  • Avoid the fried stuff.

Dingle House Irish Pub on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers

